“Bread must rise. Wine must ferment. Meat must get stale.”

Good ingredients, Good composé !

Good food!

I was browsing the web to find some technique to get my entrecote stale (should I discard the bone ? should I remove the fat ?) when I stumbled upon these three sentences. They made me laugh because they sounded almost like diktats. I kept on reading the page and found interesting extra information but any which would satisfy my primary quest. To think, this Continental country official in charge of meat quality was right, given he was talking about red meat. Also, even my beloved paper thin parathas (taratasy?) uses to be made from a paste that is left to rest before frying. And wine, is there wine without fermentation ? Now, only a Jew who is scrupulously getting ready for Pessah would challenge those observations on the three noble ingredients. Would they?

Anyway, the assertion made me think of other must dos that define a well-prepared dish in my books. Could I be that picky ? They are so many. After all, I am a gourmet and my body is a temple. These are amongst things I try to observe while preparing my food. Speaking of the temple, it’s still open to grilled, fried, stewed, poached dead corpses. Lol My vegetalian friend should skip the following (I., go check the photo gallery instead!!):

– My bread must rise;

– My wine must ferment;

– My (red) meat must get stale;

– My courgette and my carrots must be young, my roquette too;

– My sautéed vegs must be crunchy;

– My shrimps and prawns as well;

– My vary amin’anana, without coriander, without ginger;

– My soupe (de) légumes must include turnips;

– The best couscous must have chickpeas in its vegetable stew;

– My fries are fried twice;

– My vorona sy henakisoa does not include any tomato sauce;

– None of my vegs are boiled, except in soups;

– The food I use to have home must be sodium glutamate free (de facto, it is);

– The best pasta is al dente;

– My steak must be underdone. Same for my duck fillet;

– My fruits must be ripe;

– The best ravitoto sy henakisoa is fat. N., a good friend of mine, advised to check for that dark oil at the bottom of the pot. She calls it “goudron”: tar. Same for most anana sy henakisoa dishes;

– My omelette must be oozy.

Pretty sure I forgot some. Will add later.

My entrecote ? It is now resting in the fridge, getting stale for some days. The fat on, the bone discarded. I’ll just have to regularly check its freshness until Day 7.

And yours ? what ways do you use to observe ?

*** On the picture: a composé, that’s what I had at noon lunch. I like to eat streetstalls foods without the health hazards. Hence, I re-create those stuffs once home: masikita, composé. Should have discarded the tomato peel in the pasta, for a better presentation. Aah! I’m not flawless. The sausage slices are missing. At shooting time, they were making their way down… to the stomach. Same for the hardboiled egg slices. lol ***


2 Responses to ““Bread must rise. Wine must ferment. Meat must get stale.””

  1. Hmm.. com-pô-zé! nice pic!
    It’s not time yet but while reading you, well I’m hungry..

  2. Yes! Com-po-zé!
    I take it as a compliment if you salivate reading me. lol

Leave a Reply

